published on May 2, 2016 - 10:12 AM
Written by The Business Journal Staff

The Tulare County Farm Bureau will hold its 99th Annual Dinner Tuesday night beginning at 6 p.m. at the Heritage Complex in Tulare. 

At the dinner, the Tulare County Farm Bureau will present a host of honors, including $13,500 in local scholarships to area students. 

Among those being recognized this year with major awards are Larry, Terry, and Craig Peltzer as Agriculturalists of the Year. The brothers, who own and operate Peltzer Enterprises, will be honored as this year’s Agriculturalists of the Year, the Farm Bureau’s highest honor, which recognizes individuals in the community who give tremendous support to the Farm Bureau through leadership, generosity and service to the organization.   

The Service to Farm Bureau Award will be presented to Ron Paregien, a local rancher and cattleman who served for many years on the TCFB Finance Committee.
Dale Brogan will receive this year’s Friend of Farm Bureau honor for his many years of service and support of the agriculture community as the retiring General Manager of the Delano Earlimart Irrigation District.  

Nielsen and Associates of Exeter will be named this year’s Agricultural Business of the Year, for their dedicated service to the agricultural community — and their philanthropic support of many local organizations and the Farm Bureau.

Cynthia Bravo and Bill DeLain, both long-time former employees of Southern California Edison, will receive special recognition at this year’s awards dinner. Bravo, now retired, was an Agriculture Representative for many account holders and worked for decades to improve customer relations and assist agriculture customers with their electric accounts. 

DeLain, also now retired, was a regional public information officer who has been a key point of contact with Farm Bureau for many years and assisted with questions and concerns from the farm community. 

Dr. Robert Flores, an agriculture education professor at Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo is receiving this year’s Educator of the Year award for his dedication and service to the TCFB Youth Leadership program.  

Numerous students will be also recognized at the banquet including 25 students graduating from the 31st class of the nationally recognized Youth Leadership program. The outstanding Youth Leadership participant award will be awarded to a student of the class who was selected as an exemplary member of this year’s program. The outstanding participant will receive a $1,000 scholarship upon enrollment in college.

Scholarship recipients from throughout Tulare County are receiving $13,500 in scholarship aid, awards that are made possible by the Tulare County Farm Bureau’s charitable trust fund, which is a 501(c)3 charitable trust for Educational and Scholarship programs of the Farm Bureau. 
Tickets for the event are $45 each and can be purchased by contacting the Tulare County Farm Bureau at 732-8301.

e-Newsletter Signup

Our Weekly Poll

Do you believe "quiet quitting" is a problem in your workplace?
75 votes

Central Valley Biz Blogs

. . .