published on October 6, 2016 - 6:14 AM
Written by The Business Journal Staff

Nominations are now being accepted for the Fresno Chamber of Commerce’s Leon S. Peters Award, which will be bestowed early next year.

The award was created in 1984 to honor the memory and legacy of Peters.

“Leon S. Peters, a respected businessman, civic leader and philanthropist, lived and worked according to the highest ethical standards,” according to a Chamber news release. “He cherished his community and considered its well-being his personal responsibility. Peters gave back in many ways, serving in leadership capacities and donating millions of dollars to a variety of causes. When he passed, he left behind a legacy of business success, public service, private philanthropy and an ethical leadership model that few can emulate.”

Previous award winners include: Stan Oken, Ray Steele Jr., John E. Horstmann, Dr. Peter G. Mehas, Dr. Pete P. Peters, Joe Williams, Lou Herwaldt, Bill Jones, Sidney Cox, Elmer “Bud” Richter, O. James Woodward III, Samuel S. Reeves, Octavia Diener, Robert Oliver, Frederick R. Ruiz, Anne Speake, Larry A. Sheshadey, Claude Laval III, Robert G. Carter, Richard A. Johnson, James Hallowell, Lou Gentile, Earl Smittcamp, Helen Smades, Williams M. Lyles, Martin Nelson, Joe Levy, Frank Caglia, B. Franklin Knapp, James B. Mayer, Robert Duncan and Lewis S. Eaton.  

Full nominating criteria can be found at http://fresnochamber.com/nominations-accepted-leon-s-peters-award/

e-Newsletter Signup

Our weekly poll

Do you support economic sanctions against Turkey over its assault in Syria?

Loading ... Loading ...

Central Valley Biz Blogs